Taking pride in Mesagne

centrostoricoballdecorWM

centrostoricogiudaminoWM

Mesagne, Puglia

Mesagne is my favorite place on Earth. Yes, I know. I haven’t been everywhere to be able to say that rightfully, but of all the places I’ve been, it’s my favorite. It remains a special place in my heart, always on my mind and a I never grow tired of photographing its beauty.

And Mesagne is beautiful. A town small in size, but big in heart and pride. The people of Mesagne, Mesagnese, take pride in their town. And that shows especially in the older part of town, centro storico. This year I found a newfound love of centro storico, it having always been an ideal spot for walks in the morning, a cappuccino with a friend, photos any time of day or a stroll in the evening after dinner. This year they adorned their streets with such art to draw the people in. And draw them in they did!

The people of Mesagne gathered in the piazzas, guests from other towns (and countries) walked the cobblestone streets taking in all the splendor they could for their time. Music danced in their ears, their eyes soared above to flowers and lanterns swaying above them and they were joined in company by smiling faces of young and old. It was a such a sight – my heart if full!

centrostoricoumbrellaWM

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑